You call that a spring break?

Last Thursday I had just taken my first midterm of the day when I got a text from my daycare provider informing me that my son was having trouble breathing. I immediately went into problem solving mode and took him to urgent care. The other three children at daycare were hit with respiratory syncytial virus, RSV, this past winter and we thought we dodged that bullet because we took him to our backup. Turns out we were a delayed target.

Carson had had a minor cold a couple weeks prior when he developed a chesty, wet cough. I took him to urgent care the Monday of last week. He was tested for RSV but the results were negative. I was told to return in a couple days if he got worse. My mama bear instincts kicked in and I was furious. I was there so that he would not get worse and they did.

When we returned, the doctor did an oxygen check and the results showed a deficit. We were admitted to the hospital an hour later. 

Carson was 10 pounds when he was born and he is in the 99.42 percentile for height and weight. His size has made me feel that he is older than he is but he is still just under three months. His age worried the doctors as well. 

My fiancé and I shared a couch in the hospital for three nights. This was the beginning of my spring break and while students my age were spending their vacations in hotels on beaches I was jumping at every beep a machine made.

There was no official diagnosis but we were told his symptoms were similar to RSV. There is no medicine for RSV so to help him to be comfortable, he was on oxygen and an IV. 

We were discharged last Sunday and I was looking forward to vegging out and giving myself time to breathe. But I’m a mom so any minute the baby is sleeping, I’m doing something around the house. I also picked up some hours at work. Netflix, naps, and baby cuddles are what is pushing me to finish this semester.

Leave a comment